12/31/08



Book Review

Beautiful Americans by Lucy Silag

Beautiful Americans by Lucy Silag

Release Date: Jan 8, 2009
Publisher: Razorbill
Age Group: Young Adult, ages 12 and up
Pages: 304

What happens in Paris…

Secrets—
PJ’s deep blue eyes and angelic long blond hair conceal a truth that’s anything but. Will her dark past stay where it belongs in the backwoods of Vermont, or haunt her in the city of light?

Passion—
Always the good girl, Olivia plans to twirl her way to the top of the Parisian ballet scene. But that’s not supposed to include dancing on a table all night…or stumbling into the arms of the wrong boy.

Lies—
With his emo-trendy bedhead, hilarious comebacks and Southern drawl, Zack could win over anyone. Too bad he’s after the only one who’s forbidden…

Scandal—
All Alex wants from Paris is to nab that berry-red Dior coat and seduce the perfect penny-loafer-wearing boy – and Alex always gets what she wants. But will her scheming pay off? Or is she risking more than she knows…?

Alex, Olivia, Zack and PJ are spending a year at the prestigious Lycée de Monceau in the sparkling city of Paris. This is their chance to sip cafe au lait in Le Marais, throw secret parties in their host families’ Versailles-size apartments, and have the time of their lives. But when the secrets they thought they left behind come out, everything could be ruined…

Honestly, when I started Beautiful Americans I was a little skeptical. I’d saw mixed reviews… the synopsis really didn’t completely catch my interest, but by the end of the novel I was ready for more!

I loved the set up of the novel. The chapters alternate between the four characters, so you get to see inside their head as well as how everyone else perceives them. That in itself really made the novel for me. The writing was also extraordinary, I loved Silag’s flow. It was easy to read and entertaining, with out being superfluous.

The characters are really what made this novel. It seems that all the reviews I’ve read had a problem with Alex, but I loved her. Yeah she was a bitch, but for some reason that attracted me to her character. The poor girl just wants someone to love her, sure she has a completely warped way of showing it, but that’s all she knows.

Zach, was by far my favorite. I just want to wrap him up in big hug and tell him everything is going to be okay and that he’s going to find the man of his dreams one day. Zach is by far the most honest character and has his moral compass set due north. I just wish the poor guy could have found a little love!

Olivia…. I thought I had her story pegged from the introduction, but I didn’t! I thought for sure Vince was going to be a cheating whore while his girlfriend was a whole continent away, but no he was a good boy. I guess Vince was different from all the those losers I dated. I will admit that I did like the outcome of Olivia’s story a lot better then the one I had thought up for her.

And then there is Penelope or PJ. Now this is the character that I found annoying. Cry me a freaggin river. Let me get out the worlds smallest violin and play PJ her little sob story song. The girl drove me freaggin insane. Here is some advice for you PJ, DEAL WITH IT. Obviously the girl went to Paris to “runaway” from all the bad stuff at home, but then she just dwells on it, instead of trying to forget it. Honestly, I didn’t expect her to just up and forget everything that happened to her, I mean what person would, but the girl really needs to deal with some issues. By the time to story got around to something really disturbing happening to her, I was beyond the capacity to care at that point. I really hope she doesn’t annoy me so much in the next novel.

Overall, it was better than I expected. I’m really looking forward to reading the next novel!

12/30/08



Uncategorized

Update: Personal


I haven’t been online for a few days and I’m going to be scarce here for the next couple days. I’m not into sharing a lot about my personal life in posts, but I just wanted to let everyone know what has been going on with me. I’m really behind in my emails, sorry! I promise to get back to you ASAP. I’m also lacking on commenting on other blogs and my own….and every other internet related thing. Luckily I had a scheduled post for Monday, or that wouldn’t have happened.

But here is the jist…. if you’re a regular reader of my blog you know how much I love my dog. He is my child. I know some people out there will look down upon that or roll there eyes, but get over it. I love my dog.

Some of you who follow me on Twitter, might remember me mentioning my dog having a toothache. So on the 19th we took him to the vet. They did an x-ray and he had an infection in his bone, so we started some antibiotics. This weekend Xandy’s (Xander is my dog) lower jaw swelled up so much it looked like he was hiding a golf ball or even one of those cuties… you know the little oranges, it was big. My vet was out of town, with it being the holidays and all, so we had to take him to the emergency vet clinic. They didn’t have any dental x-ray equipment at the facility, so they gave us a stronger antibiotic and pain meds and told us to call the vet on Monday.

On Monday, Xander had surgery to remove his canine tooth. There was a small amount of decay on the root tip. The bone in the infected area looked suspicious and the vet preformed a bone biopsy. The vet informed us that Xander may have canine osteosarcoma. Basically he may have a cancerous tumor in his lower jaw. Large dogs are at much higher risk, I have a rottweiler.

As you might imagine I’m pretty upset at the fact that I may be losing my two year old puppy. Last night after the surgery was a very hard night. He’s doing better today, but I really don’t feel like doing much, I’m lucky I made it through work today.

I’m hoping that it was simply the infection and not a tumor that was visible on the x-ray. But we won’t know for sure until we have the test results back. But I’m going to be try and be positive about it, and assume the best until I’m proven wrong.

I do have some reviews that I will be posting, but please don’t be offended if your emails aren’t answered quickly. Thanks.

Books to Pine for Take Ten!

Books to pine for… a collection of various Young Adult titles (I do have an adult title thrown in there this time) that have yet to be released. Books to pine for are found on my aimless wanderings on Amazon.com and Young Adult author websites. Almost all the titles mentioned are not in my possession, but oh… how I wish they were.

to pine (third-person singular simple present pines, present participle pining, simple past and past participle pined)

(intransitive) To long, to yearn so much that it causes suffering. (yep that pretty much sums it up)

My original books to pine for post: Books to Pine For, has a wide range of titles, some have been released since its post date. I hadn’t intended to make Books to Pine For a regular feature, but I continued to find books that caught my interest, thus, more posts where made: Books to Pine For II, Books to Pine For III, Books to Pine For IV, Books to Pine For V, Books to Pine For VI, Books to Pine For take Seven, Books to Pine For Eight (mini edition) and Books to Pine For Ninth Edition.


Hottie by Jonathan Bernstein
Kiss of Life by Daniel Waters


Secrets, Lies and My Sister Kate by Belinda Hollyer
Coffeehouse Angel by Suzanne Selfors


The Visibles by Sara Shepard (couldn’t find anything about this one… but pretty cover, huh?)
Unclaimed Hearts by Kim Wilkins


Torched by April Henry
Dreamfever by Karen Marie Moning


Sophomore Switch by Abby Mcdonald
Goddess Boot Camp by Tera Lynn Childs


Carpe Corpus by Rachel Caine
The Awakening by Kelley Armstrong


Vamped by Lucienne Diver
Girl to the Core by Stacey Goldblatt

12/28/08



Uncategorized

In My Mailbox: Week Eight

In My Mailbox explores the contents of my mailbox on a weekly basis. Of course I only mention the really cool things, like books! If you would like to participate and have your own “In My Mailbox” post, you can find more information here.

3 Willows: The Sisterhood Grows by Ann Bradshares

summer is a time to grow

seeds
Polly has an idea that she can’t stop thinking about, one that involves changing a few things about herself. She’s setting her sights on a more glamorous life, but it’s going to take all of her focus. At least that way she won’t have to watch her friends moving so far ahead.

roots
Jo is spending the summer at her family’s beach house, working as a busgirl and bonding with the older, cooler girls she’ll see at high school come September. She didn’t count on a brief fling with a cute boy changing her entire summer. Or feeling embarrassed by her middle school friends. And she didn’t count on her family at all. . .

leaves
Ama is not an outdoorsy girl. She wanted to be at an academic camp, doing research in an air-conditioned library, earning A’s. Instead her summer scholarship lands her on a wilderness trip full of flirting teenagers, blisters, impossible hiking trails, and a sad lack of hair products.
It is a new summer. And a new sisterhood. Come grow with them.

Shelter Me by Alex McAulay

Maggie Leigh just wants to be a normal teenager, but when German bombs tear apart London during World War II, her ultra-religious mother sees the destruction as divine punishment. She sends Maggie to a remote boarding school in coastal Wales, supposedly to keep her safe, but also to keep her in line. The school is creepy, the headmistress is a lunatic, and the students range from spoiled rich girls to speechless trauma victims. But when a tragic accident happens on the beach, Maggie and three friends are forced to flee the school, plunging into the nightmarish world of Europe during wartime. Now every decision Maggie makes is fraught with danger, and living to see another day depends on how quickly she can think and act…and how far she’s willing to go.

Okay so now you know what’s in mine, what did you get in yours? You can sign the Mr. Linky below, if you would, please link your actual post, so that it is easier to find! Thanks!

12/27/08



Book Review

Far From You by Lisa Schroeder

Far From You by Lisa Schroeder

Release Date: December 23, 2008
Publisher: Simon Pulse/Simon & Schuster
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 368

Do you believe in angels?

FAR FROM YOU is a story of love and loss, and reminds us what’s really important in life. Fans of I HEART YOU, YOU HAUNT ME are sure to enjoy this novel-in-verse featuring 16-year-old Alice, a singer/songwriter who’s had her share of hard times, and unfortunately, has more to come. What will pull her through? Her music? The love of her boyfriend, Blaze? Or perhaps, an angel, here on earth?

I was first introduced to Lisa’s writing after her debut novel I Heart You, You Haunt Me. Her writing is simply beautiful. It never takes me long to read her novels, but in that short time the emotions that she can display in her writing are unbelievable. Far From You displays a wide range, touching on; love, jealousy, heart-ache, survival, forgiveness.

Alice’s struggles and then ultimately her personal triumph are beautifully woven in this captivating novel. While personally I Heart You, You Haunt Me is still my favorite, fans of Schroeder’s writing won’t be disappointed with her new novel.



Featuring Recent Posts WordPress Widget development by YD